January 6, 2016

A rush of laughter and harsh noise occupies every inch of my ears.
My eyes cannot seem to find a home.
I am completely surrounded, but I am completely alone.
My heart begins its new race.
I’m accustomed to these new beats, but I despise their return.
My breath is out of sync now, and my head is beginning to pound.
My brain is whispering, “Run. Run.”
I close my eyes for a moment to engulf myself in quiet darkness.
As I open my eyes, I smile and say, “Yes, I’m getting better every day.”

Leave a Reply

