My Mother

As the blur comes out of my head, I hear her,

My mother.

“It’s ok, you’re awake now.”

Her voice is all I have ever needed for comfort.

How unfortunate that she had me for a daughter.

So weak and sickly I have always been.

My mother’s strength and magic is wasted on me.

She should have been blessed with a daughter to match her strength.

“Wake up; it’s time to take your pills.”

Her always warm hands and her ever constant smile deserve so much more than me.

“Don’t worry, I’m right here.”

As the blur sets in again, her smile sits in my heart and I drift off. I know she will always be there to wake me.

Leave a Reply

