An Unyielding Battle

If I sit long enough, I think I can hear it, the disease of my body.

I can hear the retreat of white blood cells.

I can hear the thirst for vitamins.

What a sad, frail sound.

It’s a call for want, which no one seems able to answer.

I can hear my organs try to pry themselves from their wall.

How lonely it must be in there.

Through all of this sadness, I hear my heart pump away.

She tries hard to calm it all with her rhythmic beats,

But the sad cry is overwhelming.

If I sit long enough, I can hear the defeat.

If I sit long enough, what will be left of me?

Leave a Reply

